I used to create, but now…

creation

…the task seems a bit more difficult. 

When I was a child, I didn’t care to act strange. I loved to play with my imaginary fairies and write to my alien friend living in planet Venus. Maybe you also had a similar viewpoint when you were a kid. The world was probably too difficult to understand, and who would care about the politics and the economics and all the serious stuff anyway?

So if you were a child (which I guess you probably were), maybe you daydreamed a lot. Maybe you drew a lot. Maybe you invented a family with your plushies. Maybe you played football pretending you were Lionel Messi. And your dream job was to be a Fairy Astronaut Pirate.

My guess is that adults didn’t tell you: “Ugh, so you think you’re THAT awesome to become a Fairy Astronaut Pirate?! Stop being pretentious, like, seriously. Go to your room and rethink about your life.

They probably just laughed sympathetically and replied something like: “What a cute kid“.

However, when you grow up, it’s not the same thing anymore.

Some people seem to be less tolerant with your weird thoughts. Because you’re an adult. You’re a grown-up! Think rationally! Come on, be serious! 

Being a person with low self esteem, I’m so afraid of letting others know that I’m not as serious as it seems.

And that’s when creation comes in. I think that creativity has not much to do with rationality. Well, you can use logic to create, but you don’t necessarily need to. You can let your mind explore new universes and inspiring ideas.

Low self esteem -> Fear of letting people know you’re weird –> Fear of creating

After reading Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert, new thoughts popped out:

  • Everyone is weird, after all
  • You don’t need to ask permission to create
  • Maybe ideas are invisible particles that await to be created; it’s more about collaborating with the idea than being the sole creator.
  • You can’t control what people will think about your work; it’s subjective.

Pff…I have this cool idea in my head but what if other people don’t like it? Would I be wasting my time if everyone says that my creation sucks?

Oh, and last point:

  • As egocentrically as it seems, you create first for yourself, and then for others; not the other way around. If you love what you do, chances are at least one person on this planet will also have a similar respect for it (there’s a lot of humans on Earth).

A creative work is not rational because it is neither right nor wrong. And I think I stressed too much on that matter.

Well, turns out it doesn’t really matter.

Leave a Reply

