Why working hard scares me

23_shyrious_hardworkYou might have come across the following advice:

If you want to succeed, there’s no magical method: you just need to work hard.

Yes, work hard. Sounds pure, and honest, and adventurous, right?

Then I looked at myself and…

I’M SO LAZYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY !!!!!” I shouted as I broke the mirror with my fist.

UGH. I CAN’T WORK HARD BECAUSE I HATE THE EXPRESSION “WORK HARD“, PROBABLY BECAUSE I’D RATHER BE DOING CARTWHEELS ALL AROUND MY HOUSE AND I DON’T CARE ANYMORE……………..<(`^´)>

*calms herself down*

But really…

What is the meaning of hard work?


  • Let’s first look at the definition of “hard”:

great effort, energy, or persistence

from dictionary.com

  • Now, if we look up “work”:

effort directed to produce or accomplish something

from dictionary.com

Effort. Working hard = putting effort.

As a self-called lazy person, I guess that’s why I’m not feeling super motivated when I tell myself: “I need to work hard“. Because I know there’s going to be pressure. And also, I’ve been trapped by the implication that if you don’t work hard, you’re:

somewhat of a failure.

In my opinion, working hard is kind of connected to the idea of willpower and motivation. These are really helpful attributes. And I admire people who endure and exceed expectations because their dream is the top priority and they would do anything to achieve it.

However, that puts a big question mark: am I like these people? should I? am I not putting enough effort?

Then I find myself stuck in the vortex of self-doubt.

How hard should I be working?

If I procrastinate, that’s bad.

If I do sufficient work, that’s not enough.

If I do more than sufficient work, that’s not enough. I should be doing more.

When will it be enough? 


That’s why I’m afraid of hard work, because I always feel like I’m not working hard enough. I should aim higher and higher and higher, but I don’t know when I’ll reach the summit. Actually, I don’t even know if there’s a summit, after all.

The expression “work smart” seems kinder to me.

  • The definition of smart:

clever, witty, or readily effective

from dictionary.com

The word “effort” doesn’t appear. For someone who finds it hard to deal with pressure, that’s cool. When you’re clever, you can achieve many things:

  • Visualise your working plan, and determine what you’ll do if you fail
  • Find ways to work more efficiently without having to spend a lot of time

I think it’s possible to not work hard and still have big dreams, and actually achieving them. And that is by smart working.

Leave a Reply

